It’s with great pleasure that we announce the winners and finalists of the 2021 Crazyhorse Prizes in Fiction, Nonfiction, & Poetry. The winners will each receive $2,000 and their work will appear in Crazyhorse no. 100 this fall. We received several outstanding entries, and after much deliberation our judges have made the following selections.

Rumaan Alam selected Mary Clark’s “Steppie” as the winner of the Crazyhorse Fiction Prize.

Stephanie Early Green’s “Nojento” and Matthew Lansburgh’s “Last Night in Ventana Beach” were chosen as a Fiction Prize finalists.

Yona Harvey selected Mark Wagenaar’s “Sentence” as the winner of the Lynda Hull Memorial Poetry Prize.

Michael Prior’s “Broken Record” was chosen as the Poetry Prize finalist.

Sabrina Orah Mark selected Jung Hae Chae’s “Hole(s)” as the winner of the Crazyhorse Nonfiction Prize.

Laili Gohartaj’s “Sunflower” and Thomas Dai’s “Letters to My Octopus Friend” were chosen as a Nonfiction Prize finalists.

Congratulations to all of these wonderful writers. We are grateful to everyone who entered and are happy to have had so many exceptional stories, poems, and essays to consider.

We’re already looking forward to next year’s Crazyhorse Prizes, which will begin accepting entries on January 1, 2022.