SwampPink Literary Journal

Prizes for Indigenous Writers

From July 1st to July 15th, submit fiction and nonfiction of up to 25 pages or a set of 1-3 poems. Winners in each genre will receive $500 and publication.

This Year’s Judges

Tacey M. Atsitty, Poetry
Toni Jensen, Nonfiction
David Heska Wanbli Weiden, Fiction


Guidelines: There is no entry fee. Submissions are open to Indigenous writers in the U.S. Before submitting, please remove your name and any other identifying information from your manuscript. Writers may submit work to multiple categories, but please limit submissions to 1 per genre. We accept simultaneous submissions. Please contact us promptly should the work be accepted elsewhere.

CLMP Contest Code of Ethics

CLMP’s community of independent literary publishers believe that ethical contests serve our shared goal: to connect writers and readers by publishing exceptional writing. We believe that intent to act ethically, clarity of guidelines, and transparency of process form the foundation of an ethical contest. To that end, we agree to 1) conduct our contests as ethically as possible and to address any unethical behavior on the part of our readers, judges, or editors; 2) to provide clear and specific contest guidelines—defining conflict of interest for all parties involved; and 3) to make the mechanics of our selection process available to the public. This Code recognizes that different contest models produce different results, but that each model can be run ethically. We have adopted this Code to reinforce our integrity and dedication as a publishing community and to ensure that our contests contribute to a vibrant literary heritage.

swamp pink  Prizes for Indigenous Writers Selection Process

1st Round of Judging: Blind read by genre editors. Finalists (approximately 10 poems, 10 pieces of fiction/prose, and 10 pieces of nonfiction) will then be forwarded to the contest judges for the 2nd round of judging.

2nd Round of Judging: Blind read by contest judges. Judges change on an annual basis.

Winners and runners-up will be announced by November 1st.