SwampPink Literary Journal

It’s with great pleasure that we announce the winners and finalists of the 2023 swamp pink Prizes in Fiction, Nonfiction, & Poetry. The winners will each receive $2,000 and their work will appear in swamp pink no. 5 this September.

We received several outstanding entries, and after much deliberation our judges have made the following selections.

Jamil Jan Kochai selected Mengyin Lin’s “Shangri-La” as the winner of the swamp pink Fiction Prize.

Grace Chao’s “Family Travel” and Brynne Jones’s “The Troop Leader” were chosen as a fiction prize finalists.

Matthew Olzmann selected Lance Larsen’s A Secretary of the Invisible Thing” as the winner of the swamp pink Poetry Prize.

Chelsea Christine Hill’s “XO” was chosen as the poetry prize finalist.

Melissa Faliveno selected Donna Steiner’s “Anatomical Manuscripts” as the winner of the Crazyhorse Nonfiction Prize.

Judith Katzman’s “Still” and Faith Shearin’s “Divination” were chosen as a nonfiction prize finalists.

Congratulations to all of these wonderful writers. We are grateful to everyone who entered and are happy to have had so many exceptional stories, poems, and essays to consider.

We’re already looking forward to next year’s Prizes, which will begin accepting entries on January 1, 2024.