It’s with great pleasure that we announce the winners and finalists of the 2020 Crazyhorse Prizes in Fiction, Nonfiction, & Poetry. The winners will each receive $2,000 and their work will appear in Crazyhorse no. 98 this fall. We received several outstanding entries, and after much deliberation our judges have made the following selections.

Jamel Brinkley selected Jack Ortiz’s “They’re More Afraid of You” as the winner of the Crazyhorse Fiction Prize.

Mi Jin Kim’s “The Prince” and Brad Eddy’s “Hold Your Voice Down to a Murmur” were chosen as a fiction prize finalists.

Cyrus Cassells selected Daniel Schonning’s “Aleph with all, all with Aleph” as the winner of the Lynda Hull Memorial Poetry Prize.

Katherine Noble’s “Adultery” was chosen as the poetry prize finalist.

Sue William Silverman selected Dawn D’Aries’s “The Super’s Wife” as the winner of the Crazyhorse Nonfiction Prize.

Bridget Lyons’s “Tangled” and Tori Sharpe’s “Trouble” were chosen as a nonfiction prize finalists.

Congratulations to all of these wonderful writers. We are grateful to everyone who entered and are happy to have had so many exceptional stories, poems, and essays to consider.

We’re already looking forward to next year’s Prizes, which will begin accepting entries on January 1, 2021. In the meantime, we’ll be accepting entries for Crazyshorts!, our short-short fiction contest, from July 1st to July 31st.