It’s with great pleasure that we announce the winners and finalists of the 2018 Crazyhorse Prizes in Fiction, Nonfiction, & Poetry. The winners will receive $2,000 and their work will appear this fall in Crazyhorse no. 94. We received several outstanding entries, and after much deliberation our judges have made the following selections.

Kelly Link selected Josie Sigler Sibara’s “The Feral” as the winner of the Crazyhorse Fiction Prize.

Lauren Erin O’Brien’s “Nickel Wanting Gold” was chosen as a fiction prize finalist.

Vijay Seshadri selected Kai Carlson-Wee’s “The Book” as the winner of the Lynda Hull Memorial Poetry Prize.

Derek Sheffield’s “The Wren and the Jet at a Research Forest near Fort Knox, Seventy-one Years Since the Bombing of Hiroshima, Fifty-three Years Since the 16th Street Baptist Church Bombing, Eight Months Since the Photo of a Three-Year-Old Syrian Boy Face Down on a Turkish Beach, His Red Shirt, His Blue Shorts” was chosen as a poetry prize finalist.

Jo Ann Beard selected Elizabeth Becker’s “Report” as the winner of the Crazyhorse Nonfiction Prize.

Jeannine Ouellette’s “Push” was chosen as a nonfiction prize finalist.

Congratulations to all of these wonderful writers. We are so grateful to everyone who entered and are happy to have had so many exceptional stories, poems, and essays to consider.

We’re already looking forward to next year’s Prizes, which will begin accepting entries on January 1, 2019. In the meantime, we’ll be accepting entries for Crazyshorts!, our short-short fiction contest, from July 1st to July 31st.