Nonfiction Editor

BRET LOTT is the bestselling author of 13 books, most recently the novel Dead Low Tide (Random House 2012). From 1986 to 2004 he was writer-in-residence and professor of English at the College of Charleston. He served as editor and director of The Southern Review at Louisiana State University from 2004 to 2007, when he returned to the College of Charleston and the job he most loves: teaching.  He has been a Fulbright Senior American Scholar and writer-in-residence to Bar-Ilan University in Tel Aviv, has spoken on Flannery O’Connor at the White House, and is a member of the National Council on the Arts.

Poetry Editor

EMILY ROSKO is the author of two poetry collections, Prop Rockery, awarded the 2011 Akron Poetry Prize, and Raw Goods Inventory, winner of the 2005 Iowa Poetry Prize and the 2007 Glasgow Prize for Emerging Writers from Shenandoah. Additionally, she is the editor of A Broken Thing: Poets on the Line (University of Iowa Press, 2011). A former Wallace Stegner Fellow at Stanford University, she also is the past recipient of Poetry magazine’s Ruth Lilly Fellowship and a Jacob K. Javits Fellowship. She is assistant professor of English at the College of Charleston.

Fiction Editor

 ANTHONY VARALLO’s second story collection, Out Loud, won the 2008 Drue Heinz Literature Prize. His first collection, This Day in History, won the 2005 John Simmons Short Fiction Award. He has received a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship in Literature, and his stories have appeared in Gettysburg ReviewNew England ReviewEpochAmerican Short Fiction, and elsewhere. His third story collection, Think of Me and I’ll Know, will be published by Northwestern University Press/TriQuarterly Books in Fall 2013. He is an associate professor of English at the College of Charleston.

Managing Editor

JONATHAN BOHR HEINEN’s writing has appeared in the Florida ReviewArroyoCimarron Review, and elsewhere. He teaches writing and publishing courses at the College of Charleston.





Editorial Assistant


CAITLYN GIRARDI is a graduate student in the English MA program at the College of Charleston. She received her BA in English and Theology from Palm Beach Atlantic University. She served as an editor for the Living Waters Review before coming to Crazyhorse, and has presented her scholarship at the Southern American Studies Association Conference, Southeastern Writing Center Association Conference, the Sigma Tau Delta Convention, and Christianity and Literature.