We are delighted to announce the winners and finalists of the 2014 Crazyhorse Writing Prizes. The winners will receive $2,000 and their work will appear in Crazyhorse no. 86 this fall. We received several exceptional entries and after much deliberation our judges have made the following selections.

Caleb Leisure of the San Francisco Bay area has won the Crazyhorse Fiction Prize for his story, “Cold Light.”

Our fiction judge, Amy Hempel, also chose Ben Hoffman’s “This Will All Be Over Soon” and Nona Kennedy Carlson’s “Box of Daylight” as finalists.

Kim Garcia of Boston, MA, has won the Lynda Hull Memorial Poetry Prize for her poem “the mystic crucifixion of Tintoretto.”

Our poetry judge, C.D. Wright, also chose Trent Nutting’s “Dreams of Lightness” and Kimberly Burwick’s “Uncle Mengele” as finalists.

Deborah Cannarella of Wethersfield, CT, has won the Crazyhorse Nonfiction Prize for her essay “On Longevity.”

Our nonfiction judge, Phillip Lopate, also chose Camellia Freeman’s “The End Is Not Yet” and Nathan Jandl’s “Lineage” as finalists.

Congratulations to all of these outstanding writers. We are so grateful to everyone who entered and are happy to have had so many outstanding stories, poems, and essays to consider.

We’re already looking forward to next year’s Writing Prizes, which will begin accepting entries on January 1, 2015. In the meantime, we’ll be accepting entries for Crazyshorts!, our first ever short-short fiction contest from July 1st to July 31st.